George Lucas, Rita Moreno and The Eagles to receive Kennedy Center Honor

Rita Moreno, George Lucas, and I know they do not have much to do with the movies, but they are one of my favorite bands, The Eagles, are among the recipients of the prestigious Kennedy Center Honors this year, coming from Collider. Rita Moreno is the only Hispanic performer to have won all four of the major entertainment awards, Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony. The Eagles are one of the greatest American rock and roll bands of all time. Say what you will about the prequels or the special editions, the fact remains that on May 25, 1977, George Lucas became one of the most visionary filmmakers of his generation because he gave the world Star Wars. This award is about the contribution made by the artist to American culture through the performing arts, and all three of these recipients have certainly added much to our popular culture and are deserving of the award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s